The Municipality of Metropolitan Toronto, in existence since Jan. 1, 1954, encompasses one city and five boroughs. The Metropolitan Council is composed of the mayor, two senior controllers and the senior alderman of each of the nine wards of the City of Toronto and, for the five boroughs, the mayors, 13 controllers and two aldermen either designated by virtue of office or appointed by local councils. The chairman is elected by the councillors and need not be a councillor of an area municipality. The Council has jurisdiction over assessments, water supply, sewerage works, metropolitan road systems, transit, municipal housing developments, community planning, parks and recreation areas, the Court House, certain health and welfare services and the correlation of educational facilities in the metropolitan area. It also controls a unified metropolitan police force and a metropolitan licensing commission. In 1967 additional responsibilities were assumed respecting libraries, garbage disposal sites, low rental housing, welfare assistance and ambulance service. Expenditures are financed by a levy apportioned among the area municipalities. All borrowing of the area municipalities for capital purposes is done by the Municipality of Metropolitan Toronto.

Manitoba.—Manitoba has nine cities, which derive their powers from special Acts and do not come under the supervision of the Department of Municipal Affairs. The Department supervises the 36 towns, 41 villages and 110 rural municipalities under the Municipal Act. There are 18 local government districts in settled areas not within municipalities where the province has placed a resident administrator to carry out the functions of a municipal council. The unorganized areas are the direct responsibility of the provincial government.

The Metropolitan Corporation of Greater Winnipeg has been in existence since Nov. 1, 1960. Its council is separate and distinct from those of the 16 area municipalities. The councillors are elected as individuals from ten districts, each containing approximately the same number of voters. The council has jurisdiction over planning, zoning, land development, assessments, arterial roads, water supply, sewage disposal, transit and other services. It borrows money only for its own undertakings and leaves to its area municipalities the responsibility for welfare, police, fire protection and other services. Expenditures are financed by a proportion of the business and other taxes levied on industrial or commercial property by the area municipalities and by a uniform levy on the equalized assessment of all taxable real property in the area municipalities.

Saskatchewan.—All municipalities in Saskatchewan derive their powers from general Acts that are designated with the name of the type of municipality. There are 11 cities, 125 towns, 364 villages and 295 rural municipalities. The area so organized consists of most of the southern two fifths of the province; the remainder of this portion is administered for local purposes by the province in 11 unincorporated local improvement districts. The northern three fifths is sparsely populated and without local government, except for the corporation of Uranium City and District, although some municipal services are provided by the province through operation of the Northern Administration District. Municipalities are supervised by the Department of Municipal Affairs.

Alberta.—The whole Province of Alberta is under some type of municipal organization. The province has an Act applying to each type of municipality and under these Acts the Department of Municipal Affairs supervises the nine cities, 99 towns, 167 villages, 21 municipal districts and 28 counties. The latter administer schools as well as municipal services. Municipal government for the 45 improvement districts is provided by the Department of Municipal Affairs.

British Columbia.—As already noted, the Government of British Columbia commenced instituting regional government in the province with the intent of having the whole province organized municipally by the end of 1967. As at Jan. 1, 11 such regional